The Value Of A Day

  How important is any given day?  It depends, I suppose on which day it is, but when you get to thinking about it, you realize that many big events of our lives happen in a single day.  What if we’d been somewhere else?  How different would our life be today?  When I was seventeen, on what I thought to be just a day like every other day, I was riding down the road in my ’49 Chevy, and I saw a girl crossing the street.  Living in a relatively small town, I thought I knew all the girls, but I had never seen this one.  I turned around and went back to find out who she was and why I hadn’t seen her before (when you’re a 17 yr. old boy, those things are of major importance).  Now, 39 years, 3 children, 6 grandchildren, and a whole lot of history later, I realize that was a major event in my life.  What if I had not been going down that road on that day at that time?  What about today?  What little normal seeming thing will be a major event in my life or the lives of others?  I will do well to realize that this is the day that the Lord has made, and that I should rejoice and be glad in it, because it surely has the potential to be a banner day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

