Friends

  When God created Adam and said, “It is not good that man should be alone,” the immediate need was for Adam to have a help-meet, which is a compliment or completer.  God provided this need in Eve, the woman that God made for him.  The larger application of God’s statement about man not being alone, takes in our need for friends.  Last night, I was quite humbled and blessed by the large number of people who showed their loving friendship to my family and me, by coming to the funeral home, showing their support in the death of my dad.  A great number of people from the church of which I am pastor came, and I so very much appreciate it.  But then, I was taken aback by the bus load of people who came from my previous church, and then by a number of people who came from the church of which I was pastor before that, more than 20 years ago.  I may write a song – Friends are friends forever, when the Lord’s the Lord of them!  I’ll let you know when I get it finished!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

