Right And Wrong

The Bible book of Judges ends by saying that “everyone did that which was right in his own eyes.”

Judges covers a 350 year span of Israel’s history at a time when they had no king.   The Bible doesn’t say that everyone set out to do the wrong thing, as a matter of fact, they likely set out to try and do the right thing.  The problem was they did what was right in their own eyes.

Everybody thinks their understanding and opinion is best.  Everybody is able to rationalize as to why what they are doing is okay.  I have piloted airplanes when I couldn’t see anything but clouds out the window.  On such occasions, there have been times that everything about my senses told me that I was do something other than what the instrument panel said.  Now what did I do?  I trusted the instruments!  And, I’m alive to write about it!  We have an instrument to tell us right from wrong.  It’s the Bible.

“Trust in the Lord with all thy heart.  Lean not to thine own understanding, but in all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.”  (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

