I Must Tell

Have you ever had something happen to you that was so good and so exciting that you just had to tell it to somebody?   I was in the Post Office, one day, and I saw a man who was a member of the church of which I was pastor.  He said, “I’ve got to tell you something.  I’ve got very good news, I’m about to come into a large sum of money.”  I could see that he was very excited, and as he continued to tell me about it, he said, “I got a letter from the Readers Digest, yesterday, and I’ve been selected as one of the final five to win millions of dollars!”  I didn’t have the heart to tell him that everybody gets selected to be in the final five.

This man was exited over something he thought he might get, so much so that he was telling me about it, as if it were already reality.  It would be exciting to win several million dollars in sweepstakes, would it not?  Have you ever thought about how your life would change with such a gift?  One thing is for sure, and that is if you were to win it, it would only be for a limited amount of time.  The old trueism would once again prove true: you can’t take it with you.

Yesterday, I assisted in the funeral of a lady whom I had not seen for several years.  I had been her pastor a number of years ago.  The minister, who was her pastor at the time she died, told about how she had become such a vocal witness of the Lord’s saving grace.  He told how she would tell telemarketers, “I will listen to you, if you will listen to me for a moment, first,” and she would take that moment to tell them how God had changed her life and how He would change their lives, also.  He told how she had been such a witness to her medical doctor, and had developed such a friendship around her Christian testimony with that doctor, that the doctor had taken the day and had driven to another town to be able to attend her funeral service.

Jesus said that we are the light of world.  We really can be.  We just need to realize that what we have been given is far greater than the winning the Readers Digest sweepstakes, and out of our excitement, we only have to tell.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

